Agreement of the Hanseatic League at Lübeck, 1557

This agreement was concluded in September 1557 at Lübeck by delegates from 63 Hanseatic towns and sealed by the representatives of the Hanseatic League districts: Lübeck, Braunschweig (Brunswick), Cologne (Köln) and Gdansk (Danzig). The agreement reconfirmed previous obligations and rights of the League members, such as common protection of trade routes, expenses for diplomatic missions and defence against enemies.

"Gdansk Town Records - Privileges and Correspondence until 1525" (reference code: PL/10/300/D), no. 27,47, State Archives in Gdansk.